Bellows prep – Seneca Improved View 8×10

I was planning on building the bellows for this camera with a DIY kit advertised on LargeFormatPhotography.info.  However, Sandeha Lynch (of 6×6 folder bellows fame, and – rumor has it – retired pirate) wanted a shot at building them.  We’re collaborating on the design a bit (well, mostly I’m giving him the measurements he needs, while he does all the work), and he’s testing new materials and processes that may allow him to start offering large format bellows soon.  I’ve installed and used many of his 6×6 folder bellows, and the quality is extremely high.  I’m looking forward to seeing the 8×10 version.  In burgundy.  Too cool.

Anyway, the process starts with a tracing of the original, stripped frames:

Photobucket

The frames were too large to fit on the scanner directly, and I needed to stitch the scan of the tracing.

Photobucket

He’ll use the sketch and measurements I’ve provided to begin building the forms. I have the original bellows (such as they are) boxed up and on their way to him now.

Photobucket

When they arrive, he’ll use them to design the stiffener ribs. The whole process will take a few weeks, which will give me ample time to completely finish the rehab on the camera, make a bunch of proper lensboards, and get everything ready to mount the bellows.

2 thoughts on “Bellows prep – Seneca Improved View 8×10

  1. Thank you, I’ve just been looking for information approximately this subject for ages and
    yours is the best I’ve found out so far. But, what in regards to the bottom line?
    Are you certain in regards to the source?

    • I’ve used SAndeha’s bellows for ages. None has failed in service, and they’re all impeccably made. Check with him for bottom line costs – I haven’t replaced a bellows in a couple years now (since the Asanuma project) and am unsure what his prices are currently.

Leave a Reply

