Seneca View 8×10 – Just when I thought it was over…

Okay, I’m all over the place these days. Was ready to get rid of the 8×10 project and buy a lens to cover 10×12. Found that I had an old process lens that’s insane-sharp and covers with room for tons of movement. Done. Then hit a crisis of sorts with large format in general: Becoming stale, not spending enough time actually shooting for creativity. So, I sold the Super Speedex and used some of the proceeds to purchase the Pentax 645, which gives me more creative options due to the availability of other lenses. Start scouting for another lens. Then spend a day contact printing 10×12 negatives. Find that I really enjoy having a traditional print in my hands, and that 10×12 is still too large for casual, spontaneous shooting. Want a new woodworking project – have a wine cabinet planned, but something shorter-term would be fun.

Re-enter the Seneca 8×10.

I’ve pulled a board of maple from the pile, which will become the rear extension rail. The woodworking is going to be pretty straight-forward. What’s going to be a (fun) challenge is the precision that must go into the alignment of the new parts with the old. Should keep me occupied for a little while.

So, the 8×10 is back on. Egad.

3 thoughts on “Seneca View 8×10 – Just when I thought it was over…

  1. You know you are allowed to have more than one camera and pick the right one for the job at hand aye? You need to be flexible, take a portable one, if you’re in the mood for something contemplative, get the LF out.

    I had a little break from 4×5 when I got busy with something, took a little while to get back into the groove like you say (did some cyanotype, that was fun in a different way to digital)

  2. Yeah, I know. But I seem to be accumulating too much ‘stuff’ these days. Part of me wants to off-load everything and focus on one thing. The rest of me resists that idea with zeal. With the 8×10, I’ll have 4×5, 5×7, 8×10, and 10×12. Plus 6×6, 6×4.5 and 35mm (though I hate 35mm these days). A large attraction to 8×10 is the project itself, aside from just the format considerations, though.

  3. That is a lot of cameras. Storage? As long as you are happy at the end of the day I guess. I understand the process being fun aspect to projects.When I mad a camera it was for the goal of using 4×5, but also I just really enjoyed making things, solving problems, and working with wood (I love wood like I love a good fine art paper…er thats not wierd is it, ha ha).

Leave a Reply

