Scenes from a WWTP…

As some of you may know, I spend my days doing engineering work at a wastewater treatment plant rated to treat 28.5 million gallons of sewage per day. Not a glamorous position, but it’s an essential of modern life. So here I am.

A few weeks ago, I was needing to test out a Rolleiflex I was working on. Looking for something new to shoot test shots on (after the obligatory close focus, open aperture shots) I decided to bring the camera to work. It adds a new dimension to the day to take an outside lunch and walk around looking for subjects.

The Plant is old, and has accumulated detritus piled in every corner. There’s a delightful industrial quality about the place, with tricky lighting everywhere. It’s just plain fun. The Rolleiflex test shots were encouraging; I brought the Yashica-Mat to work yesterday for some more shooting. I present here some shots from those two outings.

MCC

Trickling Filter

img119

Sludge heater...

img123

img124

Shop Bench

img126

img125

I plan on more of this shooting, and can feel that my eye for composing these shots is going to evolve as I go. But it’s been fun so far.

1 thought on “Scenes from a WWTP…

Leave a comment